The Institute has established two ‘Academic Chairs’ in the name of two outstanding personalities who have contributed significantly for the development of Indian society.

Malcolm S. Adiseshia

Chair of Development Economics and Decentralised Planning

This Chair was created in the name of Prof. Malcolm S. Adiseshiah who was the Chairman of the Institute of Social Sciences from 1992 to 1994. It has been funded by the Malcolm & Elizabeth Adiseshiah Trust, Chennai.

Professor Kamal Nayan Kabra, a renowned economist, is currently holding the chair.

S. K. Dey

Chair in Local Government

The Institute has established the S. K. Dey Chair in Local Government. This is being done as a tribute to S.K. Dey, India’s Minister of Community Development in Nehru’s Cabinet and the first leader in Independent India who brought to the fore the community development, panchayati raj and sahakari samaj. In recognition of the Institute’s pioneering work in research and promotion of democratic decentralisation (Panchayati Raj) in India, the Ford Foundation, Mrs. Purabi Pandey (daughter of S.K. Dey) and Mrs. Barouta Malhotra contributed to the establishment of the Chair.

Prof. Balveer Arora is the current incumbent of the S.K. Dey Chair in Local Government, Institute of Social Sciences, New Delhi